Skip to content

Four candidates on ballot for Castlegar-area school board byelection

Election will be held April 20
The byelection will be held April 20. (File Photo)

The nomination period for the Kootenay-Columbia School District 20 trustee byelection for Electoral Area 2 closed March 15 and four candidates will be on the ballot.

The byelection is needed to fill one vacant seat at the SD20 Board. The newly-elected trustee will represent Electoral Area 2 — City of Castlegar and part of Regional District of Central Kootenay Area J including Deer Park, Paulson Highway, Raspberry, Renata and Robson. That is also the only area that will be allowed to vote in the byelection.

Interest in running for trustee is significantly higher in the byelection than it was in the 2022 election when only two candidates stepped up for the two Castlegar-area seats, meaning a vote was not held as they were elected by acclamation.

The candidates are Jennifer Burton, Emily Duggan, Lindsay Kenney and Birkley Valks.

Burton and Valks live in Castlegar. Kenney lives in Fruitvale and Duggan lives in Crescent Valley.

The official campaign period begins on March 23, and the Castlegar News will include candidate profiles after that date.

Advanced voting days will take place April 10 and 17. Election day is April 20.

Voting will take place at the Castlegar and District Community Complex (2101 6th Ave.) from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. on all days.

Detailed information on voter eligibility can be found at, but voters must reside or own property in Electoral Area 2.

READ MORE: Ecosystem restoration burn planned for Deer Park Mountain

Betsy Kline

About the Author: Betsy Kline

After spending several years as a freelance writer for the Castlegar News, Betsy joined the editorial staff as a reporter in March of 2015. In 2020, she moved into the editor's position.
Read more