Councillor Bruno Tassone (Submitted Photo)

Update with RDCK results: Castlegar voters choose Tassone as new mayor

Castlegar council balanced in gender and experience; RDCK goes for incumbent

Voters in Castlegar chose an incumbent councillor to replace four-term incumbent Mayor Lawrence Chernoff on Saturday.

Bruno Tassone defeated Chernoff handily on Saturday’s civic election, with 46.3 per cent of the vote. His rivals, Deb McIntosh, won 27 per cent of the vote, while Chernoff came in third in the race at 25.8 per cent.

“I’m overwhelmed by the numbers,” Tassone told Castlegar News. “They obviously wanted change and the numbers show it. It’s very humbling.”

Tassone said he planned to keep city hall accessible to the public.

“I think the biggest thing is a total dialogue with the public. There’s going to be an open-door policy, there’s not going to be any secrets, and everything is going to be up-front.”

Mayor Lawrence Chernoff, who saw his 13-year stint as top civic leader end Saturday night, sounded upbeat despite the loss.

“The public made their decision and that’s the way it goes,” said Chernoff. “It is a difficult ending but I am proud of what I did as mayor of this community, and I am not hanging my head at all.

“I am looking forward to the next stage of my life.”

Chernoff said he felt his legacy would last for some time.

“I’ve dedicated 28 years to public life, if that’s not a contribution I don’t know what is.”

While they looked for change at the top, voters also re-elected all three incumbents seeking a new mandate. Dan Rye collected 1584 votes, Florio Vassilakakis garnered 1356 votes, and Sue Heaton-Sherstobitoff 1239 votes.

The top council vote-getter , however, was Bergen Price, who collected 1688 votes. He was followed by Cherryl MacLeod with 1537, Maria McFaddin with 1389 votes, then the three incumbents.

The new council is both gender-balanced and has an equal number of incumbents and newcomers.

Vote counts for the remaining councilors were: Nicole Hergert — 1155, Janna Sylvest — 1031, Brian Smitheram —1021, Tyler Maddocks — 940 and Gordon Lamont — 861.

About 2,866 people voted in both today’s and advance polls. That makes a turnout of over 47 per cent.

Area J votes

Voters in Area J, in the rural area surrounding Castlegar, stuck with their incumbent director Rick Smith. Smith beat challenger Gord Zaitsoff by a vote of 363 (53.1%) to 320, (46.9%). About 683 poeple voted in the race.


Just Posted

25 years of Nite Trek for West Kootenay Scouts, Guides

Annual adventure hike is hosted by the 107th Baden Powell Guild

West Kootenay RCMP charge man with impaired driving in school zone

Sgt. Chad Badry reports on impaired drivers and other high risk offences

Company granted leave to appeal Lemon Creek charges

Executive Flight Centre won a decision in the BC Court of Appeal

Extensive smoke, heat damage to Castlegar home after fire on Friday

One occupant suffered burns after fleeing house with pet

Cyclist struck in Castlegar

Morning mishap at gas station on Columbia

Killer of Calgary mother, daughter gets no parole for 50 years

A jury found Edward Downey guilty last year in the deaths of Sara Baillie, 34, and five-year-old Taliyah Marsman

B.C. man killed in logging accident ‘would have done anything for anyone’

Wife remembers 43-year old Petr Koncek, father of two children

Ottawa spending $24.5M to research on health benefits, risks of pot use

$390,000 will fund two cannabis public awareness

Crackdown on money laundering does not include federal public inquiry: minister

An independent report commissioned concluded $7.4 billion was laundered in B.C. last year

Trudeau’s action plan on climate change brings B.C. politician out of retirement

Terry Lake, a former B.C. health minister, is running for federal office in Kamloops-Thompson-Cariboo

Survey finds minimal progress in Canadian military’s fight against sexual misconduct

1.6 per cent of regular-force members — 900 military personnel — reported having been victims of sexual assaults over past year

Raptors beat Bucks 120-102 to even series at 2-2

Lowry pours in 25 as Toronto moves within two games of NBA Finals

Most Read