Skip to content

Polls open as city, region choose municipal leadership

Castlegar voters choosing mayor and council; Area J choosing director
Voting day is Saturday, Oct. 20 from 8 a.m. to 8 pm.

Polls are now closed in the 2018 municipal election.

The city’s roughly 6,050 voters are choosing a mayor and six councillors to serve for the next four years.

Voting takes place between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. at the Castlegar Community Forum (the City Council Chambers), 445 13th Ave. in the city’s downtown.

Three people are running for the mayor’s chair. Deb McIntosh and Bruno Tassone are trying to unseat incumbent Lawrence Chernoff.

Castlegar mayoral candidate profiles

Eleven people are running for six council positions. They are Sue Heaton-Sherstobitoff, Nicole Hergert, Gordon Lamont, Cherryl MacLeod, Tyler Maddocks, Maria McFaddin, Bergen Price, Dan Rye, Brian Smitheram, Janna Sylvest and Florio Vassilakakis.

Meet the Castlegar Council Candidates

Residents in the Regional District of Central Kootenay Area J, surrounding Castlegar, will be selecting a director for that board. Two people are running for the position: Gord Zaitsoff, a former director, is up against incumbent Rick Smith.

There will be three places where Area J voters can cast their ballots: Robson Community Hall at 3067 Waldie Ave. in Robson; Ootischenia Community Hall at 1119 Columbia Rd.; and the Castlegar Community Complex at 2101 6th Ave.

Meet the Area J Candidates

Castlegar and area residents won’t be voting for Kootenay-Columbia School Board trustees, however. The three local seats have all been acclaimed: Teri Ferworn in Area 1, and Kristin Ali and Catherine Zaitsoff in Area 2.

The Castlegar News will be publishing the results of the votes in the city and Area J as they are made available. Visit our website and our Facebook page for all the election results, both here and across the province.