Skip to content

Most Kootenay-Columbia SD20 trustee seats filled by acclamation

Vote only needed in one area of the district — Montrose/Fruitvale
School trustees will be elected as part of the upcoming municipal elections on October 15. File photo

Only one electoral area across the Kootenay Columbia School District 20 region will actually see a vote for school trustee in the October 15 municipal election.

All areas, with the exception of Area 6 (Fruitvale, Montrose), have only the same number of candidates as seats, meaning those candidates will take their seats by acclamation.

For Castlegar (Area 2), incumbent Catherine Zaitsoff and newcomer Gavin Fox will take the two available trustee spots.

Incumbent Kristin Ali will continue to represent Area 1 which includes Ootischenia and Thrums.

Newcomer Darilyn Simister will represent Area 3 (Warfield, China Creek, Genelle, Oasis, Rivervale).

Incumbents Terry Hanik and Mark Wilson will continue to fill the two Trail (Area 4) seats.

Incumbent Gordon Smith will continue to represent Area 5 (Rossland, Patterson, Sheep Creek).

Newcomber Sean McFarlane will be running against incumbents Darrel Ganzert and Stephen Piccolo for the two seats in Area 6 (Montrose, Fruitvale).

Out of the nine total trustee spots in the district, a minimum of six will be held by incumbents.

RELATED: Two for mayor, seven for council in Castlegar election race

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

Betsy Kline

About the Author: Betsy Kline

After spending several years as a freelance writer for the Castlegar News, Betsy joined the editorial staff as a reporter in March of 2015. In 2020, she moved into the editor's position.
Read more