Skip to content

New system in place for Castlegar Chamber awards

Member input acknowledged, new criteria adopted and selection process modernized
Castlegar Chamber of Commerce

UPDATE: Contains location correction

The Castlegar Chamber of Commerce annual awards banquet is set for Saturday, June 23 at the FIRESIDE INN. This year a good deal of effort and organization has been devoted to making the process as straightforward and impartial as possible.

"We've revamped the whole business awards and the process of the system," related Chamber Executive Director Pam McLeod on June 11.

"We've established three different committees. The goal was to show that we were being more credible, and taking the feedback we've received in the past and applying that."

It's because the fairest selection process in the world can be tainted if it's not perceived as being so, that extra steps were taken with the new set-up.

"It was open to the whole business community, within the catchment area... members and non-members," explained McLeod.

"We re-wrote the criteria and changed the names and we also created a ranking system so it wasn't people with opinions sitting around the table making decisions. We then established a review panel."

McLeod clarified that the review group is completely separate from the Chamber board and its paid staff positions.

The changes seek to achieve and install the transparency so highly sought after these days.

The final stage of the voting (by Chamber members) is underway with the Chamber's strong desire for as many votes as possible being expressed – keeping in mind the the one business – one vote rule.

"Everything is set in motion," Pam McLeod concluded, "and we're just waiting for those results."

What follows are the awards (and their sponsors) to be presented at the Castlegar Chamber of Commerce Awards Banquet coming up on June 23 at the FIRESDE INN.

Business Person of the Year – City of CastlegarBusiness Excellence – Heritage Credit UnionCustomer Service – Fortis BCThe Green Award – BC Hydro which is also the Major sponsorProfessional Services Award – Zellstoff CelgarContractor of the Year – Venn & Now BookeepingTourism Development – Columbia Power CorporationYoung Entrepreneur Award – Kootenay Savings Credit Union.