Saints in Hurry to add third goaltender, sign KIJHL vet

The Selkirk College Saints are pleased to announce a commitment from goaltender Chris Hurry (Summerland, B.C.)

  • Aug. 21, 2012 12:00 p.m.
Summerland Steam goalie Chris Hurry will be suiting up for the Selkirk Saints this season.

Summerland Steam goalie Chris Hurry will be suiting up for the Selkirk Saints this season.

The Selkirk College Saints Men’s Hockey program is pleased to announce a commitment from

goaltender Chris Hurry (Summerland, B.C.) to attend Selkirk College and compete for the

Saints beginning in the 2012/13 B.C. Intercollegiate Hockey League


Hurry spent the past three seasons in the Kootenay International Junior

Hockey League, splitting time between the North Okanagan Knights and

Summerland Steam. He played for both clubs during their inaugural KIJHL

seasons and totalled 18 wins and 47 losses over 70 games. He averaged 45

shots per game last season for the Steam and saw an average of 38 shots

per game over his junior career.

Hurry is the third goaltender to commit to the Saints this offseason,

joining Major Junior and SJHL veteran Alex Sirard and former VIJHL

all-star Stephen Wolff.

“I’m very pleased that Chris has chosen to commit to Selkirk College and

be a part of our team,” says Saints head coach Jeff Dubois. “His

addition, along with Alex and Stephen, gives us tremendous depth and

talent in goal. My preference is always to have three capable

goaltenders that can compete and push each other over the course of a

season, and we feel we have exactly that with these new additions.”

“I’m excited to join a great program like Selkirk College with all of

the talent that they’ve brought in for the upcoming season,” says Hurry,

who describes himself as a big goaltender who takes up space and plays

his angles well. “I’m looking forward to beginning my courses to become

a sports physiotherapist and working towards winning a BCIHL league


Also committed to Selkirk College for the fall are forwards Logan Proulx

(Cowichan Valley, BCHL), Thomas Hardy (Aldergrove, PIJHL), Jackson

Garrett (Comox Valley, VIJHL), Stephen Saretsky (Wellington, OJHL),

Scott Swiston (Creston, KIJHL), Connor McLaughlin (Fernie, KIJHL), Cody

Fidgett (Delta, PIJHL), Matthew Luongo (Aldergrove, PIJHL), Cole Thomson

(Kerry Park, VIJHL), John Proctor (Delta, PIJHL), Mason Spear (Beaver

Valley, KIJHL), Connor Stephens (Victoria, VIJHL), Brodie Gibbon

(Oceanside, VIJHL) and Jared Seutter (Chase, KIJHL) and defencemen Brett

Kipling (Melville, SJHL), Dylan Smith (Richmond, PIJHL), Kam Crawford

(Osoyoos, KIJHL), , Lucas Hildebrand (Revelstoke, KIJHL) and Mark

Strachan (Kimberley, KIJHL).